Meet our team

Tasmanian Division Council Election 2020

Voting is now open to fill one (1) vacancy on the TAS Division Council.

Two (2) candidates have been nominated to fill one (1) position on the TAS Division Council.


Jonathan Duddles FAICD
Graeme Lynch AM FAICD

Voting is now open and, in accordance with the Australian Institute of Company Directors By-Laws, will remain open until 5.00pm AEST on Monday, 21 September 2020. The date of the Election is Tuesday, 22 September 2020.

How to Vote

To record your vote, mark the box next to the candidate of your choice with an ‘X’.

A maximum of one (1) box can be marked on the ballot paper.

You will receive ‘how to vote’ details from Link Market Services, engaged by the AICD as the Returning Officer for the 2020 Division Council Elections.

Please contact the TAS office 03 6242 2201 if you are a member of the AICD and have not yet received details on how to vote.

Meet the Tasmania team

We have a dedicated team of staff to assist with any member queries and requests for information.

Members & Clients – Tasmania

  • John Devine MAICD – State Manager, TAS Division

Our TAS Programs team deliver our extensive schedule of courses and events.

  • Tanya Stephenson MAICD – Program Executive
  • Courtney Templeton – Program Coordinator

Our Business Centre and Member Lounge team look after your needs when you visit our Hobart CBD location.

  • Rocco Maio – Business Centre and Member Lounge Coordinator

Members & Clients – National (based in TAS)

Our Membership Experience team are available to speak with you about membership, your ongoing professional development and questions you may have about being or becoming a director.

  • Karen Clarkson AAICD – Membership Partner – Development

Education – National (based in TAS)

  • Allyson Newbon AAICD – Assessment Executive

Meet the TAS Council

The Council assists in providing guidance and strategic input into the direction of the Division.

Current members of the Tasmanian Council are:

  • Naomi Edwards FAICD
  • Johanna (Hanny) Allston MAICD
  • Janine Healey FAICD (President)
  • Paul Lupo MAICD
  • Graeme Lynch AM FAICD
  • Katherine Schaefer GAICD
  • Miles Smith GAICD
  • Kym Goodes MAICD
  • Joe Luttrell GAICD
  • Dr Katrena Stephenson GAICD

The Role of the Council

The Tasmanian Division of the Australian Institute of Company Directors has a Tasmanian Council to assist in guidance and strategic input into the direction of the Division. The Council also approves all membership applications and subsequent upgrades of membership.

The role of the Council is defined in Article 9.3 of our Constitution. To give effect to that role, the objectives of the Councils are:

A. To provide advice to the Australian Institute of Company Directors Board and CEO on:
I, Policy matters affecting the role of directors
II, Australian Institute of Company Directors membership matters
III, The strategy and policies of the Australian Institute of Company Directors itself and management issues that may arise from time to time.

B. To administer the membership of the Division, approving new members and upgrades.

C. To represent the views and aspirations of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in the Division’s territory and to develop relationships with leaders in directorship, regulation and politics who reside or are active in the territory.

D. To support the Division Manager with regard to:
I, Events
II, Member service, member recruitment and retention and member grade matters
III, The general conduct of the Division, including Director and Board Development programs

Council Procedures

A Council consists of at least five and not more than ten members elected by the members of the Division. Each Council elects a President who serves for a period of up to three years at the discretion of the Council. Each Council also appoints one of its members, usually the Division President, to the Australian Institute of Company Directors board for a period of up to three years. One third of Council members retire each year, although a retiring member may be eligible for re-election. The maximum time a Council member may serve is nine years, or three terms if less.

For more information on the role of the Council and it’s directive please view our by-laws.

Current Tasmanian Scholarships

Tasmania offers a range of scholarships each year to prospective company directors. Keep up to date with the current scholarships being offered here.

Tasmanian Government Board Diversity Governance Scholarship Program 2019/20

Scholarship applications open on Monday November 18th 2019.

This program is being offered by the Tasmanian Government in partnership with the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Applicants must be Tasmanian residents and be prepared to commit to the course timings and related requirements including assessment completion.

Read more about the Scholarship Guidelines and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs).

Scholarship applications will close at 5pm Monday 9 December 2019.

Apply now